Baxter County, Arkansas

Location of Arkansas: 

Location of Baxter County: 

Baxter County is a county in the U.S. state of Arkansas. As of the 2010 census, the county’s population was 41,513. The county seat is Mountain Home. It is Arkansas’s 66th county, formed on March 24, 1873, and named for Elisha Baxter, the tenth governor of Arkansas.

The Mountain Home, AR, Micropolitan Statistical Area includes all of Baxter County. It is in the northern part of the state, bordering Missouri. It is commonly referred to as the Twin Lakes Area because it is bordered by two of Arkansas’ largest lakes, Bull Shoals Lake and Norfork Lake. On its southern border is the Norfork Tailwater and the Buffalo National River.

Mountain Home, a small town whose origins date back to the early nineteenth century, is located in north-central Arkansas on a plateau in the Ozark Mountains. The natural environment of nearby Norfork and Bull Shoals lakes and the surrounding countryside has attracted tourists from around the country for many years. Educational institutions have also played a role in the life of the community.

For more information regarding Baxter County, please visit their county website here.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 587 square miles (1,520 km2), of which 554 square miles (1,430 km2) is land and 32 square miles (83 km2) (5.5%) is water.

Major highways

Adjacent counties

Click here for County Assessor information and property taxes.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]