[vc_row][vc_column][vc_tta_tabs color=”chino” active_section=”1″][vc_tta_section title=”County Information” tab_id=”1517211156617-5174c694-e4ee”][vc_column_text]

Humboldt County, Nevada

Location of Nevada: 

Location of Humboldt County in Nevada: 

Humboldt County is a county in the U.S. state of Nevada. As of the 2010 census, the population was 16,528. Its county seat is Winnemucca.

Humboldt County comprises the Winnemucca, NV Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Humboldt County is the oldest county in Nevada, created by the Utah Territorial Legislature in 1856. It was also one of Nevada’s original nine counties created in 1861. The county is named after the Humboldt River, which was named by John C. Frémont, after Alexander von Humboldt, a German naturalist, traveler, and statesman. Humboldt never saw the places that bear his name. Unionville was the first county seat in 1861 until the mining boom died there and it was moved to Winnemucca on the transcontinental railroad line in 1873.

For more information on Humboldt County, click here


 According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has an area of 9,658 square miles (25,010 km2), of which 9,641 square miles (24,970 km2) is land and 17 square miles (44 km2) (0.2%) is water. It is Nevada’s fourth-largest county by area.

The Santa Rosa Range runs through eastern Humboldt County. The highest point in the county, 9,731-ft (2966 m) Granite Peak, is in the range. The most topographically prominent mountain in Humboldt County is unofficially known as Dan Dobbins Peak and is in the remote Jackson Mountains.


Adjacent counties

National protected areas


Major highways


%d bloggers like this: